Finally, EFCC releases Identities of corrupt persons who changed presidential pardon list

  • Emerging report has confirmed those involve in the alteration of the 2022 presidential pardon list
  • It was gathered that three individuals were discovered to have been responsible for the fraudulent act after EFCC investigation
  • These three individuals is expected to appear before the law court for prosecution in accordance with the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria

FCT, Abuja Nigeria’s anti-graft agency, the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has released the identity of the individuals suspected to have altered the presidential pardon list for 2022.

As reported by The Nation newspaper, the three identified individuals are a senior official in the secretariat of the PACPM, an Assistant Chief State Counsel in the Federal Ministry of Justice, and an agent of the former bank MD.

Read also

CSOs to FG: Stop obsolete use of examination to appoint Accountant-General of the Federation

EFCC, Presidential Pardon
The EFCC might be on the verge of prosecuting the three suspects involved in the alteration of the presidential pardon list for 2022. Photo: EFCC
Source: Facebook gathered that all three individuals were enlisted for prosecution after a report by the commission’s investigative team rolled out their names as culpably responsible for the alteration of the presidential pardon list.

It was gathered that the three individuals according to the EFCC findings will be charged with conspiracy, bribery, and corruption among others.

The list by the Presidential Advisory Committee on Prerogative of Mercy (PACPM) had high-profile names like former Plateau and Taraba Governors – Joshua Dariye and Jolly Nyame.

However, skepticism was raised about the name of Mrs. Leticia Ayoola-Daniels, the acting Acting Director of the Administration of Criminal Justice and Reforms Department (ACJRD), and another person from the Ministry of Justice as possible suspects but were later vindicated after much investigation.

The allegation, EFCC investigations and findings

Read also

In Osun, APC accuses PDP, INEC of imminent conspiracy, fires warning shots

As reported by The Nation, the three individuals identified by the anti-graft agency were alleged to have included the name of a jailed former managing director of a bank, who was never on the list of names recommended for pardon.

Prior to the commencement of the investigation, the EFCC received a letter from the office of the attorney-general of the federation seeking a probe into the case.

The newspaper further reported that the outcome of the investigation by the EFCC came to the conclusion that the suspects were given money by an agent of the jailed banker for his name to be inputted inside the pardon list.

The EFCC report says:

“Efforts are in top gear to arrest the other co-conspirators and upon the conclusion of the investigation, the case file will subsequently be forwarded to our legal and prosecution department for vetting and prosecution.”

Naira crash: EFCC raid bureau de changer operators in Abuja

Read also

Owo attack: Prominent lawyer calls for immediate prosecution of suspects

Meanwhile, in a bid to stabilize and reform the exchange rate between the Dollar and the Naira, the EFCC has sought to intervene.

According to reports, operatives of the EFCC on Friday, July 29 launched a raid on bureau de change operators in Abuja.

It was gathered that the raid was meant to dislodge currency speculators lurking around the Wuse Zone 4 axis of Abuja.

EFCC gets unlimited access to INTERPOL’s database

In another development, the anti-corruption campaign of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has taken a huge step.

EFCC and INTERPOL are in a mutual agreement to fight and combat local and international crimes as one.

A deal was signed between both intelligence agencies which now grants the EFCC access to the database of INTERPOL.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright DG Obvious Media 2022 : Powered by Deo Gratias DGNETWORK GROUP